Is the MSI GE72 good for recording gameplay at 1080p 60 fps?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cornered_fox

Distinguished
Dec 3, 2010
Hello,
I am looking into buying a new laptop to use for recording while playing bullet hell shooters (shmups) like Touhou, Mushihimesama, Dodonpachi etc. I wish to record at 1080p 60 fps, and was wondering if the MSI GE72 is good enough? I was also planning to record to an external USB 3.0 HDD since I've read its better to not record to the same drive as the one playing the game. I have never recorded my gameplay before, so I'm new to all this.

These are the specs of the MSI I'm thinking of getting:

CPU: 6th Generation "Skylake" Intel® CoreTM i7-6700HQ Quad Core Processor, 2.6-3.5 GHz
RAM: 16GB 2133MHz DDR4,
Hard Drive: 128GB SSD + 1TB 7200RPM HDD

GPU is a choice from the 2 below:
GPU: nVIDIA® GeForceTM GTX 960M 128bit w/ 2GB GDDR5
GPU: nVIDIA® GeForceTM GTX 970M 192bit w/ 3GB GDDR5

Would I really need the GTX 970 instead of the GTX 960? Will that extra 1GB of VRam make a difference? Will the 128bit as opposed to the 192bit cause poorer performance? Do I really need such a powerful GPU for a shmup?

Also wondering if it would be worth getting a 256GB SSD instead of the 128GB SSD? I only plan on using the SSD as my boot, all other stuff like the games themselves, music and videos will go into the 1TB HDD. They're shmups, so they load quite fast anyway, that's why I figured I'd leave them in the HDD. Please correct me if I'm wrong or if there will be some advantage to having them on the SSD instead.

One more thing. I was reading about something called rendering the video, I have no idea what this is. Can someone explain? Will this happen while I'm recording, or as soon as I'm done? How long does it take?