Laptop GPU upgrade done, unable to update drivers (MSI GT70 0NE from GTX 675M to GTX 880M)

wmalone10

Estimable
Jul 4, 2015
Hey there, this is my first time posting to the forums, but I just need help with this problem that has been giving me a huge headache for the last 2 days. I've spent about 16 hours trying to work on this problem already, and I am a computer competent person, so this is giving me a lot of grief. So, without any further delay I will overview the situation, and then the steps that I've already tried:

I have an MSI GT70 0NE with a GTX 675M graphics card that I got a few years ago, and recently it just wasn't holding up with new games, so I decided that I was going to upgrade it. I know there is tons of hate for laptop upgrading, and everyone says that you are better off getting a new laptop altogether, due to the possibility of a lot of GPUs not being able to fit or whatever, but it was actually very easy to replace in this case and fits perfectly. I replaced the card, thermal pasted it, etc, then decided to turn it on and check out what was going to happen. I went to the Device Manager, and it properly said GTX 880M in the Display Adapter area, so it seemed that all was going well. Then I opened my GeForce Experience, which reported the same exact info as when I had my 675M in, so I decided to search online for answers.