Solved! Laptop suggestions

defreel

Distinguished
Jun 9, 2010
I am new to the laptop world. I have a desktop that I am happy with and am not going to replace, but needs dictate a laptop because I won't be able to use the desktop for a while.

1_What is your budget?
- Budget is around $1000, can spend a bit (a couple of hundred or so) more if I get something for it I also don't have to spend it all if I don't need to and I am not getting bang for the buck for what I am trying to do.

2_What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
- 16 to 17 inch (mid 15 may not be bad)

3_What screen resolution do you want?
- I assume at least 1600 x 900, but again, lower res if it is still good for the size screen. I will not be watching blurays on this machine in general, and if i watch movies at all, I realize it isn't going to be the best, but I am not getting a laptop to watch stuff on.

4_Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
- No...not replacing desktop

5_How much battery life do you need?
- at least 2 hours, but not too picky. Will mostly be used plugged in to the wall.

6_Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
- Will mainly play EQ2 (low to medium settings at native resolution whether it is 1600 x 900, 1650 x 1080, etc.., may bring up 2 instances of the game), maybe some Diablo II (800 x 600).

7_What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing,watching movies, Etc.)
- Basic internet surfing, email. Maybe a place to store digital pictures from camera so I can offload the disk.

8_How much storage (H.D.D Capacity) do you need?
- 250 Gig minimum (not a hard constraint, no pun intended).

9_If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
- Don't really care, but I do need to get it in less than 2 weeks.

10_How long do you want to keep your laptop?