Lenovo Y70-70 or W550s?

galerecon

Estimable
May 29, 2015
Hello all,
Recently I graduated college and had to return my laptop to the university. Now I am in need of a new laptop since my work will involve a lot of programming and software development. I have done my research and have decided to go with one of these two laptops:
- Lenovo Y70-70 (80DU00KMUS - Black model for $1,649.99).
- Lenovo W550s (I'll upgrade the RAM to 16GB which totals $1,679.00).

I love the look/feel of the Y70 but hate the battery life. I would probably be working a lot on the laptop and having to look for a plug every 4-5 hours will be a pain. The W550s is very generic looking but is still powerful with amazing battery life. Both run on i7s, but the Y70 is running a much better graphics card. I'll be running dual boot (Win7/Ubuntu Linux) so having the OS on an SSD is also important to me just like that battery life. This is where the Y70 comes in handy because it has 1TB HDD as well as 8GB SSHD which is plenty to hold the OS on. This is ensure quick bootup times and the overall experience navigating between the OS menus. Unfortunately the W550s only has a 500GB HDD (but it is running on 7200 RPM!!)....I'll probably do some light gaming nothing too heavy, I have a gaming rig I built at home.

I would like your opinions or preferences, what do you guys think Y70-70 or W550s?
Thanks all!

EDIT: I'm really not sure why the W550s is so expensive...is it really just because of the battery life?

metalicgeek

Estimable
The W550s is expensive because it's part of the famed ThinkPad line, Lenovo's advanced business brand of laptops with a heritage that goes back to the IBM days. It has been tested extensively for durability, is built like a tank, and has additional security features. Compared to the Y70-70, it also has a screen of a much higher resolution (3K), and a workstation-class graphics card for rendering applications.