Looking for a portable workhorse-Questionnaire filled out

rapids

Commendable
Mar 16, 2016
Hello everyone,

I am an engineer and am looking for a portable device on which I will be able to work on computational software.

1. What is your budget? Upto 1500 USD

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering? 12.3 inches screen

3. What screen resolution do you want? Equivalent or better than 1920x1080

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop? Portable

5. How much battery life do you need? Atleast 4 hours

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)? No.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
This will be my primary device for quite sometime(atleast 3 years). So pretty much all the things such as my engineering software and including browsing, making ppts, excel work etc.. Since the device is geared towards running computational software, I would want to buy a quad core device.

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
I am little unsure about this. Since I am looking for a portable option, the price vs increase in SSD storage is quite a steep rise. So, I am thinking a 256 GB SSD and I have an external 1 TB HDD that should suffice. If this is very restricting, only then I will think about a 512 GB option. The catch is that the device that I have looked at (Vaio canvas Z) the 512 GB option is available with 16 GB RAM. I'm not sure if that much RAM is really required. I use a system with 8 GB RAM at work it's ok...not great but I feel that's enough.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
The device will be bought from Amazon USA. Amazon, because it will be easy for my friend in the US to order.

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop? Atleast 3-4 years