Looking for a solid gaming/production laptop

Dcas

Estimable
Feb 26, 2014
Hey everyone, I've been doing a bit of research lately for a solid gaming/production laptop that is within $1,700, give or take a couple of dollars.

I'm currently an audio engineer major in school, so I use Pro Tools, FL Studio, as well as some high end video production software, namely Premiere Pro.

I also am into programming a bit as well as web design, so I'd be running software like Adobe Dreamweaver

Aside from school functions, I'd like to be able to run recent games, although I'm not going to be too anal about graphics settings, I want to be able to run games with no problems.

I've compiled a bit of specs that I would like to see in my ideal PC, which are the following:

CPU: Intel Core i7 (4th Gen) 4700HQ / 2.4 GHz up to 3.4GHz, quad core

RAM: 16GB 1600Mhz

Hardrive: 1TB 7200rpm / 256GB SSD Raid 0

Display: 17.3" 1920 x 1080

Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 765M - 2 GB GDDR5 SDRAM

Ports: LAN HDMI Microphone input Headphone/SPDIF combo jack Audio line-out 2 x Mini DisplayPort 4 x USB 3.0

Backlit Keyboard

This is just a preferred generalization of my ideal laptop.

I've done a bit of research on specs, but even more than the specs I'm concerned about the little things.

Specifically whether the drivers are working properly, overheating is an issue, the keyboard is comfortable to the touch, and doesn't have input problems.

I recently purchased an MSI GE60, and the touchpad was very troublesome, even after updating the drivers.

Two laptops I've been looking at are the MSI GS70 Stealth (can't tell the difference between 001us and 002us) and the Zeusbook Ultimate 100. The MSI is also nice because I can use it in a business situation without looking like an idiot, pulling out an obvious gaming laptop, not to mention the easy portability.

Any of your suggestions based on these specs would be greatly appreciated!

Solution