Looking for something to replace my WDTV Live.

clwilder75

Prominent
Feb 3, 2018
Ok, super noob here when it comes to this and I need to do it on the super cheap!

I've been running an old WDTV Live (which I actually REALLY LOVE) that I bought about 10 years ago and a similarly aged 1.5 TB hard drive. I know, I'm super lucky...lol. But now I am starting to have minor issues and would like to update to something more functional and less buggy (It has taken to eating my movies! Poof! Gonzo!). I prefer straightforward and functional over lots of weird options, I just want to watch my movies and listen to my music, preferably on any device in my house. My main focus is to be able to watch the movies that I have in my collection, mostly mp4 and AVI (must play AVI, I have over 1000 movies and I do NOT want to have to convert them all...LOL), on any device on my network. I would love to be able to make playlists easily. I would like a nice interface, simple but not ugly, smooth and semi-intuitive but with easy override ability. I do use Netflix, Amazon Prime, and other streaming options and I would like to use one device for all of them, on my main tv.

My setup has 3 TV's - My main TV, my kid's TV, and my mother's TV. The main TV will be the primary TV, with access to all content on the media hard drive, my computer, usb hookup, and online streaming capability along with all of the control for the system. The other 2 TVs will only need access to movies, TV, and music that would be shared across the network. They use Xboxes to access the movies and music. We also may want to connect with a computer, laptops, tablets, smartphones, and an iPhone.

I have a couple of fully functional older Windows 7 PC's (I have no interest in upgrading any of my computers to Windows 10 but my sister is going to come visit and I am sure her laptop has Windows 10) that I could use.