Solved! macbook or gaming windows laptop?

twocows

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2005
so i am in a bind at the moment. my budget currently is $1400 dollars and i dont live in the US. i am in a third world country.
i am an IT guy by trade and have used and built PCs through out my life... its one of those times when you're out of a job and have to make every penny count thus advise from fellow people is required.
now,
i've always been attracted to macs and have had one in the past, a 13inch, and really liked its battery life. this was back in 2010.

my choices are limited at the moment. i can only make my selection from whats available to me in the market. in other words, please dont suggest to me other than what i am putting in...

option 1: ) mac book pro base model. 128gig ssd, core i5, NO touch-bar.
i can get this currently for the base price of $1300 dollars.
my cons for it are what everyone hates. the fact it has only two ports, it is a dongle life with it, and the keyboard being so sticky... butterfly?
what i do like about it is everything else... the retina screen, the battery life (54wh), the speed, the updates from apple are unified, the look, the design. i wouldnt put it as a choice if i wasnt attracted to it.

option 2: ) is an am MSI gamers laptop model number, gv627re, heres a link to its specs: https://goo.gl/4Yvvy8
its specs are top notch; core i7 7700hq, 16gig ram, 1TB HDD + 128 SSD, 4GB nvidia geforce gtx 1050TI, screen is 15.6" but i dont think its IPS.
so its a gaming laptop. its battery is a piece of garbage. only 41wh. for a machine this size who in their right mind would lug it around to do regular browsing on without the power adapter.

anyways. i am not much of a gamer to start with. i play the occasional wow. very rare ...and mostly hearthstone. both of these games play fine on the mac ....

furthermore, i am Linux certified and love to mess with distributions here and there at times.