Solved! Need advice on buying a lightweight, powerful laptop

avim

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2007
Hi all,

RE: Need advice on buying a lightweight, powerful laptop

I will soon be looking for a powerful laptop that is also fairly lightweight. This will be the first time that I will ever have had a modern cutting-edge laptop. I have always just bought 2nd hand, 2-generation old laptops just as "something to have". (Until 6 months ago I had a ThinkPad T30.)

I am a freelance technical writer/graphicist and programmer and need a laptop that can cope with anything I will bump into for the next couple of years. (For example, when the T30 finally broke down 6 months ago, a brother-in-law gave me his old HP Pavillion dv4000 (seems to weigh a tonne...). I took it with me to a new client and made a multi-media recording of a new GUI their company was building for their product. It was clear that the laptop was laboring under the strain of running at once the GUI and MS Windows Media Encoder. After a couple of hours the laptop overheated and turned itself off. Right in front of my customer... I was lucky that it saved the video file, but did not cap it properly. Also, the playback was very jumpy. Later on, I asked some wise friends and they said that I need a very fast system: a strong CPU and a fast graphics coprocessor.)

So I am looking for a 13" to 14" laptop - up to about 2.1Kg. What has caught my eyes so far are the ThinkPad T400 and the Dell Studio XPS 13 and Studio 14z. I need to be able to carry it with me wherever I shlep (usually commute by public transport) but since sometimes I could go for days without needing to actually use it (use my clients PC instead) I don’t want to carry a tonne on my back for nothing. Budget: in U.S. prices, I suppose that would be about up to about $1500. (I am not in the U.S.)