Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Keep your old T420 and wait till it spoils

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters

metastate

Honorable
Oct 4, 2013
Hi,
I am a computer science student and contemplating about if i should upgrade my T420 to a T430.
I do Java and server side programming, and also other business modules that requires heavy use of excel. I do not play computer games.

I current own a low end T420 running on i5-2520M/4GB RAM and it has 6 months of warranty left. Recently my school has a vendor that sells T430 (i7-3520M/8gbRam) ata price much lower than retail. It's so low that if i were to sell my current T420 to upgrade to T430, I will only have to top up $1000 more. The new thinkpad comes with 4 years warranty.
Personally, I love my current T420 for its keyboard and high res display, both of which will not be on the new T430.

What are you guys' view on this? Would you upgrade if you were me? My concerns about my current thinkpad is the battery life and warranty. The processor may be one issue, but so far I havent face anything I can't do with the old i5.

Or is there any other laptops you would want to recommend? I am opened to any, even Mac. I was a user of mac before thinkpad, and as much as I'd love to go back, but i'd have to run windows 90% of the time. Other than buying t430, another option would be to replace my t420 when it spoils then I would scout for a new one.

For me the lower resolution will be an issue. I tend to multitask and have lot of windows/programs open at the same time. I find that my Lenovo Y470 with a resolution of only 1366x768 hinders me. It's good for playing games, but I prefer a laptop with higher resolution so my next laptop will have either a 1600x900 or 1920x1080 resolution screen. Games would be a lower priority since that's what my desktop is for.

Don't both T420 and T430 have HD displays?