Realtek HD Audio Manager- Unable to Get Sound Through Headphones

samZ91

Commendable
Jul 12, 2016
Hi all,

First of all, I'm basically a novice, so please forgive my lack of knowledge where terminology and whatnot is concerned.

My laptop is ASUS X551, 15.6-inch (Intel Celeron 2.16GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, running Windows 8.1), and Realtek HD Audio Manager was already installed upon purchase.

Up until a couple of months ago, when I plugged my headphones/earbuds into the headphone jack, Realtek would "pop up"- usually immediately, though sometimes with a delay- with a "what did you just plug in" pop-up, at which point I'd indicate headphones and the sound would come through them. But Realtek has not been doing that for a couple of months- I can only get sound through the computer's speakers. Often the pop-up will appear after a long time, but only after I've removed the headphones from the jack. If I pull it out and re-insert it multiple times, (trying for different pressure or speed, etc.) after a delay Realtek will pop-up the same number of times I had inserted them. No matter how long I leave them in the jack, Realtek never pops up while they are inserted- it's almost as if it's "sensitive" to them being pulled out, but not put into the jack

At one point I found some advice online suggesting to install new Realtek Drivers, which I did, and it made no difference. I've also checked the control panel, and Realtek HD Audio is the default device under 'speakers'. I don't know what else to do that I haven't tried. Help would be very much appreciated!

mumoffour

Estimable
Dec 5, 2015
Hi samZ91, I have just posted about something similar and am a total novice too so hopefully it may help both of us.