Question self powered USB hub would help my laptop's performance?

Feb 17, 2019
Hello Everybody!
I am going to buy a self powered usb hub, because my laptop gets warm very often. So it should reduce the power used by usb ports, helping to cool the cpu.
I am not an expert in the subject, but i guess if i use a lot high consume usb devices it will work.
The devices are: fan, USB sound card, external hdd, cooler, etc.
Regards
Pablo

A laptop really isn't meant to run all that extra stuff. While I get your idea and the purpose of what you want to try, I don't think it will give you the results you desire.

I would really suggest running less, keeping less attached to, the computer unless it is really needed. Either that, or switch to a desktop, which is better equipped for having so much connected.

Rooky_Ghost

Estimable
Nov 30, 2015
Since you have a fan and a cooler running off the laptop, I assume you're in a hot environment, and that the heat is an issue, regardless of the mAh your devices may draw. A soundcard shouldn't be much of an issue, and the eHDD wouldn't be useful if you got a self-powered hub. If the laptop is on a fixed space, like an office or a desk at home, you may consider a cheap phone charger to power the fan and the cooler, since they usually only use the power lines of the USB connector.

Feb 17, 2019
A laptop really isn't meant to run all that extra stuff. While I get your idea and the purpose of what you want to try, I don't think it will give you the results you desire.

I would really suggest running less, keeping less attached to, the computer unless it is really needed. Either that, or switch to a desktop, which is better equipped for having so much connected.