Using laptop for long, continous time

pranjal.3029

Prominent
Oct 26, 2017
Hey all,

This is my first time posting here, and this felt like the most appropriate sub forum for my problem.

I use my laptop for long, un-attended hours, like sometimes week or days without shutting it down once(It's usually downloading my steam games, or itunes library, I am also using it as a plex server). It's plugged in for all that time because I can't attend to it's charging needs. I am worried about my battery because now the backup the battery gives me when I sometimes take it off the table seems shortened than it's original backup times(Now, less than an hour when using internet and watching a movie). HWInfo64 says the battery wear is at 30%. This battery is almost 2 years old now, is this much wear abnormal for a 2 year old battery? In my use case scenario? I have been using it 24x7(as much as possible) for almost more than 6 months. I own an Asus ROG GL552VW, which has 4Cells 48 Whrs battery with a Core i7-6700HQ, GTX 960M, 8GB 2133MHz DDR4, 1TB 5400 RPM SATA 2.5" with Windows 10 Home 1709.

Update: If I decide to replace my battery after a few months, will everything be back to normal or am I harming my laptop in the long run permanently? What are some good practices, if any, for running a laptop-server? :p

Solution
You don't have to worry. I have the same laptop, but replaced HDD for SSD for an huge performance boost. I also run a Plex Server and some tools to make life easier. Mine runs for weeks before a reboot is needed.