Utilitarian notebook quest

McGuffin

Commendable
Oct 28, 2016
Hi all,

This post is not a prank and I'm not trolling. Sharing my internal thoughts and concerns only, would appreciate any constructive input.

So, I looked through the new hardware from apple rolled out and it made me all angry and I don't think I'm getting a new [strike]toster[/strike] macbook.

But what am I getting then?

- Obviously I'm going to install OSX on any hardware I find, win is has a nightmare UX that nix systems only copy, getting 2nd hand nightmare. Just one popping dialog "Are you sure you want to do what you have just asked me to do?" and I want to smash it to pieces, too much stress working with a system that assumes you're dumb af, I'm a scientist, I'm both arrogant and never wrong.

- Apple hardware has 16gb ram and I'm currently having a desktop with 32gb and it's noooot enough for sure. I have no idea if any laptop, weighting any kg can give me, say 128gb ram? If not - what's the absolute top you can fit on a laptop chasis for any money? Is there a laptop that can have 32-64 or 96gb ram? I sometimes open 2000-3000 tabs and I need it. I always browse till computer just crashes from few hundred apps and all the open windows and stuff. Don't judge.

- I want a portable system that can have no lag dual 5K displays, or better yet more than dual - 3 or 4 displays with 5K on them? Currently I have 5 displays, one 43" 4k, two 30" and two 24". What I do is I have various dashboards and chrome windows on all of them, pulling information from different sources, notifying me of changes. It looks like a trading system where they have all market stocks, but it's just regular web browsing with fully embraced ADHD. My attention span is 5 seconds and I love it. Having some 10 different youtube videos playing muted at the same time is not uncommon - I like to stumble upon new stuff.

What I am ready to compromise on: