What to look for when looking at "scrap laptops".

terrarizing

Estimable
Sep 20, 2014
My local PC store has a large number of what they call "scrap" laptops. After chatting up the sales clerk I found out that almost all of these are still functioning, and some are still ok even cosmetically (they take out the HDD, and RAM so they can sell them separately, but they are otherwise intact). I am a college student with a minimal budget, so I see a chance to get something decent here, or at least better than what I have. My question is if there is anything to watch for? There are i3, and i5 laptops there,since they run about $35, are these worth fixing up if I can find one that just needs the ram and HDD? I've built PCs before, and I've done numerous laptop repairs/upgrades, so I am capable of fixing one of these myself, I'd just like input on if the cost is worth the risk, because to me it seems that it is. Total (with the student discount) I can get one for around $105, assuming that I buy a decent HDD, and I find a model than can have 8gb of RAM, and the one I buy works. Thoughts? Am I thinking about this the right way?

Solution
It is difficult to say without knowing what's in the stacks. Go ahead and take a look and make note of the laptop models and then do some research about them. Feel free to ask for any advice, though my experience extends mostly to Dell and HP business laptops.

terrarizing

Estimable
Sep 20, 2014
I suppose you're right on the SSD, my current system has one and the boot times are awesome. It's just challenging to find an SSD that is decent, in size and speed, for $50, unless you catch a good sale. Do you happen to have any recommendations?

BadAsAl

Distinguished
Any recourse if you get it home and put the RAM, Hard Drive, etc. in and they don't work?
If they allow returns then I would say try one and you may end up with a good bargain.