Which one would be better and why?

theboomboomcars

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006
I am looking to build a new laptop and was wonder which of the following would be better and why:
Asus z92km
MSI 1029

I am a student and use my laptop for notes in class, I also do some graphic work, and my one game that I get to occasionally is Never Winter Nights, so I would like to run it.

killernotebooks

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006
I have to step in here. The ASUS does NOT have the better GPU, it isn't even close.

The 7300 is an ENTRY LEVEL graphics card with SHARED memory architecture. The default version of the chip advertised by NVIDIA works at 350MHz and utilizes 700MHz memory with 64-bit interface.

Compare that to the x700 128 Mb video card the 1029 has and it is no contest:

See my post of the x700 vs. the x1400 for complete in depth specs on the x700. To sum it up it has 128 bit dual channel video memory interface, 8 pipes, 6 vertex shaders.

The "Cystal Shine" screen on the ASUS looks like dog, compared to the BriteView Glossy screen of the 1029. Not to mention the 8x DVD burner standard on the 1029, it's a no brainer.

KillerNotebooks.com

logo_white_mirrored.jpg

theboomboomcars

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006
Thanks for the help, I was unsure about video cards, and I can't seem to find anything on the 7300 go. So I am guessing that the 64mb dedicated isn't enough, my current laptop has a Geforce2go with 8mb. I want to be able to run Never Winter Nights on it. I am also looking at build quality. From the looks of it your laptops are based on the MSI, is it well built? My current, a dell, case cracked within about 3 months of carrying it in my backpack designed to carry laptops in, lots of padding. Do you have any experience with the Asus or seen any tests on it?

killernotebooks

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006