Wife's Laptop (w/ Laptop FAQ)

BretWD

Estimable
May 9, 2015
Love this site. Been building Desktop PCs for a long time now and this place has been invaluable for advice and insight. However, for the first time, I am looking to get a laptop (for my wife), something that I have very little experience in, so looking to get direct advice out here for the first time. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

1. What is your budget? She doesn't want to go too far beyond $1000 USD, so I am hoping to shoot for that range. If something is suitable at a lower price point, great, otherwise it's more about getting what satisfies her needs.

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering? Obviously, bigger screen the better, as she'll want to use this for work as well as for fun.

3. What screen resolution do you want? HD (1080) would be preferred with the capability of being at least 1920x1080 (for decent graphics onto the monitor).

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop? This will be replacing the Macbook Pro she is using as she wants to move back to a MS Windows based machine.

5. How much battery life do you need? Not too much. As long as she can keep it going for a couple of hours during a lunch meeting at Starbucks or similar establishment.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)? I'd say the ability to play the two Blizzard game WoW & Diablo 3 would be a good starting point. We also do some virtual tabletop RPG play through Fantasy Grounds, but that's not graphic intensive.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.) She'll need to be able to keep open things like email, browsers, spreadsheets, word processor, etc., but nothing requiring heavy graphics or design.