5.1 Surround sound computer setup Q's

Status
Not open for further replies.

macewrox

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2011
Hey folks, I just have a couple questions about setting up a 5.1 or 7.1 surround sound system to my computer.

1. Do I -have- to buy PC specific speakers? Or can I buy a home theater system and just plug it up to my computer?
2. How would I go about plugging it all up? Since I've never done it before, I just don't want to drop a ton of money on a surround sound system and spend a ridiculous amount of time troubleshooting since I have no idea how to do it. Is it just plug and play?
3. I -know- my soundcard supports it, and it has multiple ports other than voice and headphone jacks, is that where I'd plug it up?

Thanks a ton, I'll probably have more questions after these are answered :b

anwaypasible

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2007
1. you can buy a home theater system and plug it up with the computer.
the digital connection will play stereo only IF the audio isnt encoded into a surround sound format.
most video games are not encoded into a surround sound format for output to the soundcard.
this means you have to do one of two things:
- connect the receiver to the soundcard with analog connections (probably the easiest)
- use dolby digital live or dts connect to encode the audio into a surround sound format to be sent through the digital connection to the receiver with the rear speakers functional. (dolby digital live or dts connect doesnt support 7.1 - only 5.1)

2. to plug it all up, you get some 3.5mm to RCA cords (unless your soundcard has RCA output jacks)
these are usually color coded to make it easy.. and lots of soundcards come with a piece of paper to show you which one is what.
some of the soundcards have a picture in the included software to show you which output jack is what.
3. soundcards is where you would want to plug the receiver to