A choice between laptops

sean8564

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2009
Hello all,

I'm finally in the market for my first laptop, due to an ever more painful rear end - I'm done with the constraints of desk chairs!
I'm a student, so have a tight budget (not much £500 preferably). The laptop will mostly be used for uni work (optimistic), however, I do dabble with gaming. Therefore a mid level graphics card is necessary. I mostly play WoW (the ever more demanding expansion packs included) - I'm not one to care for maximum settings and high detail, but I like it to run smoothly. I'm torn between two refurb laptops from PC world / Dixons, one slightly more expensive than the other. I was wondering if the extra 100 or so quid was worth it.

Also, any other suggestions as to a laptop suitable in price and needs are more than welcome. I can probably push £550 for the right laptop.

Anyway, first one I have been pondering is the ACER ASP6920G. At 459.99 from PC World (refurb) I am getting...

Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5750 (2 GHz, 667 MHz, 2 MB Cache) Genuine Windows Vista (R) Home Premium 3 GB Memory 250 GB Hard Drive Blu-ray Combo drive 16" CrystalBrite widescreen Display ATi Mobility Radeon HD3650 Graphics Card dedicated 512 mb Graphics Memory Wireless enabled

VS

ACER ASP7720G for 379.99

Intel Core 2 Duo T5750 Processor (2 GHz, 667 Mhz, 2MB Cache) Genuine Windows Vista (R) Home Premium 3GB Memory 250GB Hard disk drive Blu-Ray & Super Multi DVD drive 17" CrystalBrite display nVidia GeForce 9300M GS graphics Wireless & Wired network-ready Gloss black exterior with white interior.

I understand the 3650 is the superior card, however, is it worth the extra cash when my most demanding use will be WoW:Wotlk.

As I say, any other suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time

Sean

4my8

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2009
You can run more that just WoW with the GeForce 9300m....so i wouldnt spend the $100 more for the ATI HD 3650 although its more powerful.