A8 3500m or core i5 2410QM for general use

rmjaj0413

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2012
My son is headed to college soon and we re in need of a new notebook. I am deciding between Dell Vostro 3300 series and ASUS u53 series. AMD quad core in the Dell and I5 processor in the ASUS. OPinions on Processer and Dell v ASUS would be helpful. Thanks

Hello rmjaj0413;

The CPU/APU comparison would be 'close enough' in performance that either one will be a good choice.
The Vostro is a business class notebook and should have a very slight edge in overall ruggedness and longevity. It also has a matte / anti-glare LCD screen which will be handy in difficult lighting situations (like large lecture halls and shady outdoors coffee bars).

Did you mean the Asus A53?

Hi, I'm a computer technician.

Here's an example of a great laptop and I'll then explain:
http://www.ncix.ca/products/index.php?sku=64776&vpn=120038U&manufacture=Lenovo&promoid=1141

1) Lenovo makes quality laptops (unlike Acer)
2) The CPU and GPU are combined as a single chip. Many of the APU's for laptops are in my opinion not powerful enough for the CPU portion but this one is. I highly recommend the E2-3000 APU which has sufficient processing power while still being cool.

This APU is not only adequate but produces less heat than the Intel CPU. The laptop is noticeably cooler and quieter than the Intel CPU laptops.

3) excellent value

This laptop is a well made product. It is quiet, cool, and has all the needed inputs and outputs, including HDMI.

Other:
I recommend getting a Logitech mouse with the NANO usb receiver so you can just leave the receiver installed in the USB slot all the time.

JohnK11

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2012
Both i3 and A8-3500 are good choices--and you can get
laptop with those for as little as 400-500 range on sale.

Choosing which one depends on your need. i3 is a slightly
faster cpu processor but will not matter much except for highly
intensive tasks (such as video processing, etc.)