Amp/DAC for Beyerdynamic DT990 PRO (250Ohm)

FedeArce3

Estimable
Jul 27, 2015
Hello everyone, i'm new in this topic, i bought the DT990PRO 250Ohm and i have them connected to my Asus XONAR DG soundcard in my computer, i dont know if this is enough to get the most out of these headphones, if not id like to take it a bit further and i've been considering to get either an amp or a dac, thats why im here, i need some help and instructions to decide what to buy and what would be the best choice based on my setup. Thanks everyone.

*The xonar dg drives these headphones fairly well (i think so) , i find myself listening them comfortably at half volume (windows)

*I have some flac audio files and i use the highest quality in spotify when listening to music

Solution
D
The card has a pretty good amp and DAC. How much are you wanting to spend? I'm thinking you'd need to move to the ~$300 range to get a noticeable increase in sound quality with something like an O2/ODAC or Schiit stack ( Magni 3 / Modi 2 ).

I've got a Xonar STX and a Mayflower O2/ODAC Rev. B and the O2 is more neutral and has a little better separation but the STX actually holds up quite well in comparison. It's just a little bright vs the true neutral of the O2. I actually like my HD 650s on the STX better.
D

Deleted member 217926

The card has a pretty good amp and DAC. How much are you wanting to spend? I'm thinking you'd need to move to the ~$300 range to get a noticeable increase in sound quality with something like an O2/ODAC or Schiit stack ( Magni 3 / Modi 2 ).

I've got a Xonar STX and a Mayflower O2/ODAC Rev. B and the O2 is more neutral and has a little better separation but the STX actually holds up quite well in comparison. It's just a little bright vs the true neutral of the O2. I actually like my HD 650s on the STX better.

Solution
Mar 18, 2018

Would a Schiit Fulla 2 provide a similar boost as it seems to be based on the Modi 2?

D

Deleted member 217926

The Modi 2 is a DAC not an amp.