Are Gateway laptops junk ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mlindsayme

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2010
I was debating between a Samsung or Gateway laptop. The Gateway seems to have better specs for the price, but I am told that Gateway is Junk, is this true ?

G

I got the NV5214u from Gateway for $479 (Athlon64 X2, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD,15.6" LED LCD, great webcam, multi-in-1 card reader) and it's working great for 9 months now. Even slid from the table (on a platform) about a meter high and nothing bad happened. I have it in triple-boot (winxp, win7, and fedora 12) and have no issues with it whatsoever.

will31

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2007
I've been using gateway for about three years now. I had a plain Core 2 Duo Gateway way laptop that worked great and as you said for the specs it was the best deal at the time. I upgraded to a Gateway P-6860FX have had that for about two years now and I absolutely love it. I have had not problems with either of the Gateway laptops. I sold the previous one to a friend and it's still going strong no issues what so ever. They are really good quality. No I had a Dell Laptop a while back as well and I had propblems with it. Where the charger would not charge the battery, it would only power the laptop. Google it and you'll see that there are numerous people with this same problem when it comes to dell.... Just my two cents.

G

My Gateway NV53 is junk! I can't read the screen except at night. The worthless mouse pad moves the cursor to a new line if you even touch it. It is a piece of crap! I will never buy another Gateway as long as I live. Their logo of holstien cows should portray the area under the tail instead of the stomach.

mikteafool

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2010