Best Laptop under $500.

Jun 3, 2018
Hello. There have already been multiple forms created about this topic but mine is a little different from the others I have read so thats why I still went ahead and created this one. I am a session musician who travels a lot and I need a good laptop that I can take with me on the road. I have a good background In technology so I know a lot about desktop systems but I am having trouble picking a laptop system. I want something that Is fast for music recording and something that can handle video editing and photoshop. I barely game so the graphics card is not a very big problem but If i could fit something into the budget that could run some games that would be kind of cool. storage is not really a problem for me either as I have a spare laptop 1TB hard drive laying around. Thanks and I hope I was specific enough. the more RAM the better also as I sometimes run virtual machines. I was thinking about a lenovo t440 or something of that nature but I am sure some of you could have better suggestions. Also the cheaper the better obviously.

Solution
The following 15.6" Asus laptop is just slightly over your budget at $510. the thin bezel around the screen makes it closer to the size of a 14" laptop. It also has a quad core i5-8250u CPU; the "u" means it is an ultra low voltage CPU so this CPU operates at a max of 15w of power. Though manufactures are allowed to configure the max power consumption between 10w (which means the CPU runs at lower clockspeed) and 25w (which means the CPU can run at higher clockspeed). I do not believe you are allowed to configure the power consumption yourself though. At the standard 15w envelop, the CPU basically runs at about 2.4GHz, but can burst up to 3.4GHz for a very limited amount of time as long as the CPU is not running too hot...