Building a laptop for the first time, need build advice!

WilfyG

Estimable
Sep 24, 2014
I'm looking to build a laptop that i can use as a personal workstation that i can use to code and run other various programs. It does not need to be able to run advanced programs like video editors and i ideally want to be able to keep it on a reasonable budget. I've never built my own laptop before and plan on having my friend it build it for me so any advice is greatly appreciated. Ideally I would like to keep it in the $500 dollar range or less so let me know what the best one i can get for that dollar amount would be.

Thanks.

Solution
Generally speaking, the laptop has to have it's parts/frame pre-built to assure it's got the smallest design, so if you were to built a laptop, you've already wasted lots of money, just buy a laptop or build a desktop.

If moving around to other houses, consider building a mATX (uATX)/Mini-ITX LAN party desktop which is easy to carry from place to place.

orlbuckeye

Distinguished
Laptops are rarely sold like that. Yes if you search worldwide you may find a place where you can get generics part. The difference between desktops and laptops are the mobo are more standard. The laptop mobo & case are designed by the OEM's so basically every model of laptop will have a different motherboard. Now you have some ODM's like Clevo the sell the barebones which are a case and motherboard and sometimes the graphics cards are part of the mobo and you can add the memory hard drives (even raid configuration).

Here's a place in the USA to get a barebone kit.
http://www.rjtech.com/

UltraFireFX

Honorable
Dec 16, 2013
Generally speaking, the laptop has to have it's parts/frame pre-built to assure it's got the smallest design, so if you were to built a laptop, you've already wasted lots of money, just buy a laptop or build a desktop.