Question Can I upgrade my old custom laptop?

May 23, 2019
Hi Everyone,

Big noob here.
I bought this old tank in 2013,
I do mainly 3D modeling/ rendering on it with quite demanding softwares such as Solidworks.
Also some Adobe suite but nothing crazy.
It is still performing decently considering the beating I gave it.
I could do a total reinstallation if I was not that lazy and short on time. Am obviously considering doing this if I upgrade.
Issues so far are:
  • stuttering... if watching a movie or listening to some music while many windows are open on a browser for ex. it starts regularly glitching and lagging. crr crrr crrrrr
  • the screen could really be changed. yellowing on the edges, hard to keep a good colorimetry despite regular calibration. that s a problem for my work.
  • i need to replace the keybord. got 2 keys that won't work if you don't press them 5 times...
  • heating up / fan overuse... obviously I would need to repaste the thermals...

is it worth it?
I'm a bit broke and that beast was expensive when i bought it.

thanks in advance for your help

mucZNYE.jpg

Since you already have a solid state drive in it, does not sound like there are any real issues with it that a clean Windows setup should not clear up.
For the screen and keyboard you would need to find out the cost to replace those. To get a system with the same speeds would cost about $300, 350 due to the amount of RAM and several drives that are in this one. A new workstation with space for multiple drives would cost over $1,000.

May 23, 2019
Since you already have a solid state drive in it, does not sound like there are any real issues with it that a clean Windows setup should not clear up.
For the screen and keyboard you would need to find out the cost to replace those. To get a system with the same speeds would cost about $300, 350 due to the amount of RAM and several drives that are in this one. A new workstation with space for multiple drives would cost over $1,000.

Thanks 9