College "Gaming" laptop $1400 budget

kosanovskiy

Honorable
Jun 28, 2013
Hey everyone I am looking for help and advice in my search for an "ideal gaming" laptop. My budget is $1400. I been looking at many models so far and Sagger/Msi seem like cheapest picks, problem is that their CPU is good but GPU wont last for more than 2 years (gtx 765m/770m). Also I looked into cheaper AMD processors such as the MSI GX 60 (with a A10-5750m and the Radeon HD 7970m), but I'm not sure how I feel about the amd quad processor since it is weaker than most i5 intels. Anyways I'm also hoping on using sales/coupon codes/waiting till certain model becomes cheaper. With the hopes that if I buy this laptop it will be able to handle most of the new games I throw at it for the next 3-4 years. Also as a college student I get free OS so I'm excluding that from the cost.

1. What is your budget?
Approximately $1,400, but if it can be done with less that would be fine.

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
15 inches

3. What screen resolution do you want?
1920 x 1080

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
Portable

5. How much battery life do you need?
An average battery life will suffice, 3 to 4 hours, but if less it's fine.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
Diablo 3, BF3, CS go, Skyrim+mods, Bioshock Infinite, and any other new games that are released on the market. I'd like to run most games on high or medium settings.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
Compiling data, protein structure test runs, and a few other engineering applications.

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
500 GB+
Also I already bought myself a 128GB ssd that I'm currently using on my old laptop and will swap it into the new one.