desktop replacement

residuum

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2007
I'd like to purchase a notebook to replace my desktop. I dabble a little in video editing and would like something that can multitask. I'm in the military and found a military discount on a new XPS system. It's quite a bit of money and was hoping to get some opinions/thoughts/ideas on if I could do better for the price or if I should stay away from Dell period. I'm a rookie, so don't be too harsh :wink: Anyway, here's the notebook:

Intel Core 2 Duo T7200
17" UXGA
2GB DDR2 @ 677MHz
256 NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900GS
100GB 7200rpm
8X CD/DVD Burner w/double-layer
Sound Blaster Audigy
Intel Next-Gen Wireless-N
Bluetooth

The cost is $1993. I want to keep it under 2K and I really want it to have a 17" display. Any and all suggestions/tips are welcome. Thank you.

killernotebooks

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006
:arrow: The 7800 GTX is a more capable card if you can get it.
:arrow: SXGA+ is plenty of resolution on a 17" screen but it is personal preference.
:arrow: Might want to stick with a G+ card, I have the N cards DELL uses and they are spotty performers honestly.
:arrow: Make sure DELL's warranty covers APO shipping, could be an important question.
:arrow: The DELL XPS and Inspiron 9400 I believe (98% sure) are the same machine internally and vary only in the chassis, with coupons (below) you might find a better deal.
$500 off Select Inspiron Notebooks $1499+ (Excluding XPS Systems)
Dell Coupon code expires after first 4,000 uses, or on 4/26 at 6:55 am EST. Dell coupon subject to change. Only one Dell coupon may be applied per cart at checkout. Click through and upgrade any of the Inspiron systems to use this $450 off $1499 coupon from Dell Home.
Dell Home Coupon: VVM?RDFCRF75C5 - Expires: 4/26/2007
Stay safe brother...

residuum

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2007