Solved! Fixing channels cutting out

yanloui

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2010
Greetings,

I have a Studiomaster P7. The channels will cut out from time to time. Sometimes if I push the fader all the way up the signal will start flowing again, other times I need to play around with the cable and connection.

I'm wondering if this sounds like a fixable problem?

One thought I had was it could be a matter of cleaning the connections by taking the top off the board.

I was also concerned about the safety of this.

thanks for any ideas.

yanloui

Solution
Hi yanloui,

I may be wrong, but this seem to be a problem either with the cable or with the connector.

Basically, when you push the fader up, you increase the potential difference (at a level of several mV) between 2 points of circuit having a bad connection and it's enough to establish a temporary channel having lower impedance through the faulty connection.

So this doesn't seem like a fader issue, especially if you obtain this 'reconnection' using different faders.

If you know which connector has this problem, try to replace the cable connected to it (P7 is a large mixer, but I suppose it's one of the Main / Bus / Auxiliary outputs having a TRS or XLR connector type).

If same behaviour is encountered, it means that the problem is...

Dr_M0rph3us

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2008
Hi yanloui,

I may be wrong, but this seem to be a problem either with the cable or with the connector.

Basically, when you push the fader up, you increase the potential difference (at a level of several mV) between 2 points of circuit having a bad connection and it's enough to establish a temporary channel having lower impedance through the faulty connection.

So this doesn't seem like a fader issue, especially if you obtain this 'reconnection' using different faders.