Gaming Laptop.

WokSz

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2011
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Tom's Hardware but found this website and its wealth of information extremely helpful. I'm looking to buy a new laptop for gaming purposes. I know that I would be better off building an actual PC but as I have to commute a lot between University and home during holidays, this option doesn't seem suitable at this point. So, my question is if you guys have a good recommendation for a gaming laptop? I'm not a huge gamer, but I do like to occasionally play WoW. I'm currently on a 2009 MacBook Pro (2.2 GHz).

I'd appreciate your help!

redguard117

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2008
Have you checked out CyberPowerPC, IBuyPowerPC, ASUS or Sager Notebooks? They have some good gaming laptops available, which you can configure to your price range. Also, xoticpc.com gives you a wealth of options.

If the most you're looking at is WOW, you can probably get away with a Geforce GT 540M, which is a midrange card from Nvidia.

A good website for checking Laptop GPUs is notebookcheck.com, they let you compare with other gpus and have various charts with benchmarks. For example, for the 540m http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GT-540M.41715.0.html

WokSz

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2011

Thanks a lot for this! These deals look amazing and if this is the case, I may just end up buying a new PC. Do you know if there is an equivalent website based in the UK?

dwright

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2011

Yep, gaming laptops are quite a bit more expensive than a desktop. It is just a matter of what is more important to you. I like the portibility and was willing to pay for it. There are some really nice laptops out there though that can easily run the programs you are talking about.