Gateway FX P-7805u 17 inch vs. Apple MacBook Pro 13.3 inch

lithsord

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2008
Okay, so I'm thinking about getting a laptop, and these two have become my final options, both of which I can get for around $1100-$1600.

Here are the Specs:

MacBook Pro
-Processor: 2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
-Memory: 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
-Hard drive: 250GB SATA, 5400rpm
-Chipset: Nvidia MCP79
-Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 9400M (integrated)
-Dimensions (WDH): 14.35.8 x 9.82 x 0.95 inches
-Screen Size: 15.4 inches
-Weight: 5.5 pounds

Gateway FX P-7805u
-Processor: 2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo P8400
-Memory: 4GB, 1066MHz DDR3
-Hard drive: 320GB SATA, 7200rpm
-Chipset: Mobile Intel PM45 Express Chipset
-Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 9800M GTS (1GB GDDR3, not sure if that is part of the 4GB)
-Dimensions (WDH): 15.8 x 11.8 x 1.3-1.7 inches
-Screen Size: 17.0 inches
-Weight: 9.1 pounds

Yeah, so just looking at the specs, it looks like the P-7805u wins, but I'm a high school student, so I'm not really buying this for the gaming. Mainly, I will be using this for Java, C++, Python and Ruby programming, mostly creating games, and some light graphics work, usually with GIMP. I do however want to throw in the occasional game of StarCraft or WarCraft, Halo PC, but nothing uber intensive like Crysis or Flight Simulator X. If I get the MacBook Pro, I will be doing most of my gaming on Windows 7 or XP though Boot Camp. Also, looks-wise, I am really leaning toward the MacBook Pro, and also, I get to throw in a free Ipod Touch, and that is a huge plus. Any thoughts would really be helpful, I need to know if there is some major factor I am missing here.

NOTE: I changed it to a 15-inch MacBook Pro.

Thanks to CNET for the specs!

frozenlead

Distinguished
So? 10 pounds really isn't all that much, if you think about it.