I review Chromebooks for a living, and I install these 5 apps every time

Sep 8, 2024
The great thing about Chromebooks, then (when invented) and now (proven, robust) is that you almost never need specific apps, and the windowing system used in the browser (just a single click to switch tabs!) is nearly perfect.

For example, I can open Google Docs in one tab, Microsoft 365 in another tab (almost fully-supported online edition, which can now even handle redlining), YouTube in another (not playing, just for a break), the NYTimes in another tab.

Use the browser's hamburger menu, or F11, to maximize the viewable area, then slide the mouse pointer to the screen top to drop back down the tab. Switch tabs (which equals switching apps in this context) easily with a click. Even, with an external monitor, have two de facto app windows open side by side for easy visual draft comparisons. (11" screens work best in full-screen only mode)

Apps, except for unsupported areas like video players (hence the Android version of VLC is loaded on my Chromebook), suck. No "tab switching", need to "switch" apps. Google is aso still wrestling with window sizing on Chromebooks for Android apps (it offers three sizing options - phone, tablet, and resizeable with a warning).

My main browser window is the equivalent of "Workspace #1. If I need a second "workspace", just open a new browser window with different tabs. How simple is that?

Thus my first choice is always run web browser-friendly "applications" just in a tabbed browser window. On Chromebooks browser memory seems better managed than on MSFT Windows.

If I want the look and feel of an app without the risks of Android, the hamburger menu in the browser lets me break out a web page as a pseudo application, essentially hiding the "frame" of the underlying browser window. (PWA - do we still use that term - Progressive Web App?).

I only resort to an actual Android app if the browser window or PWA conversion don't work. Hell, VLC.