Is a MacBook Pro 13 inch a wise idea?

gman_42

Honorable
Jun 4, 2012
Within the next month I will be in the market for a new laptop. I have been recently looking at the MacBook Pro 13" retina 256GB. As a high school student I don't "require" a MacBook, per say; in fact I have a functioning laptop that does office quite well. My problem with it is the abysmal web browsing and multimedia production. Many of my projects involve PowerPoint presentations and picture-rich word documents to photoshop and video editing. While I can do these with ease at home on my desktop I want to be able to use class time to work on these projects as well. At $1,549 Canadian, a MacBook Pro isn't exactly a high school only affair, either. I want it to last into university, also. Finally, I want this laptop to play light games such as GMOD and Minecraft for LAN parties so I am not hauling my desktop around. Also, the MacBook is pretty and well built.

1. $1500 is a tad steep, maybe $1400-$1200?

2. 13" - 15"

3. 1920x1080 is preferred

4. Portable for sure

5. Battery life of 5-9 hours (not gaming) is ideal.

6. Games include CS:GO, GMOD, Minecraft, Rust, as well as any other Valve title, but gaming is my last priority.

7. This laptop is mainly for school which ranges from a web page and a word document to rendering video. Keep in mind I am not a professional, so rendering video won't be a huge part of its use.

8. I'm liking the 256GB SSD idea; I have lots of portable media and a large hard drive for large files

9. Ships within/to Canada for free/cheap? Good enough.

10. 3-4 minimum, 5-6 ideal

11. NO optical drive please

12. I would like avoid the likes of Acer, Toshiba, Dell, and boutique Laptop retailers.

13. Canada

14. The MacBook Pro is in my sights for it's metal build and rigidity, looks, OS X, and it's reasonable power. I hope to see it last 5-6 years because I hope to move into math and science which don't require as much power.