Is this laptop a good buy?

bconway

Estimable
Nov 16, 2014
Hi. I'm using a dinosaur desktop at the moment. I'm surprised I've gotten such a good life out of it, I've been considering upgrading for the past two years now, but it keeps chugging along. I don't do any intense gaming, but I did throw in an extra 1gb of ram and an AMD Radeon HD 7700 card. Wasn't too expensive to do and I think it helped extend the life and enabled me to play battlefield play4free back when I was into that game. My computer is growing progressively slower and is having issues running much of anything, so it's time to upgrade, I think.

Nowadays all I really use it for is streaming videos, doing schoolwork, and just browsing basically, but it's becoming slow to even watch an NFL stream or watch movie streams or whatever. I'd like to be able to play some games occasionally, but definitely nothing too intense. I don't have enough time for gaming to justify spending money on games. I was looking at some low end laptops and came across this. It seems like a pretty good buy. Think it might be something I should go for? Thanks.

Solution
Yea that definitely looks like a good option. Obviously when you are shopping on a tight budget, it is near impossible to find something that has everything you want. This laptop has some parts that can give tip offs to it's performance, like the 'u' series processor (the Intel mobile variant, so slightly less performance than a regular i5) or the 'DDR3L' ram (low power ram for less heat, but also a slight hit in performance). It really comes down to personal preference. Check out this review of the processor and even better this extremely thorough review of the laptop itself . It compares it to other laptops in the same class. That website has a lot of resources to help you out, whether you know the tech or not. Good...

fabianoa

Estimable
Nov 16, 2014