Is windows defender plus Malware Bytes (free) good enough

NiBy

Prominent
Apr 20, 2017
i used to use avg and just got a new rig. Should i get avira? I stopped with avg on my last rig because it was annoying. But i heard avira is good. I'm always skeptical and ocd about this type of stuff. Any ideas/advice would be much appreciated

Solution
Not used it so I don't have one mate in all honesty
Certainly looks very very light with no nags

You can look at reviews etc all day long but recommendations change from month to month.

AV programs live & die by their heuristic engines & virus definition updates at the end of the day.
As someone already said these are updated when a virus comes into the wild & someone reports it.
What may infect your PC one day even with an av program running would not the next day once the updates have been pushed.
They're pretty much all as good or bad as each other in that respect.

ingtar33

Honorable
Dec 17, 2012
I am a professional IT guy, most of our smaller business clients chose not to pay for a "paid" antivirus against our recommendation. However they do take our advice when we can't convince them to pay for an AV to run windows defender and malwarebytes. As a free solution it's pretty good, doesn't nag you much, though you'll have to scan yourself from time to time with MWB.

As for other free solutions, Panda and Avast! are both pretty good. I would strongly advise you against Avira. I have worked with it a few times and I've found it to limit the end user control over the product far too much. In short if it ever returns a false positive and breaks something you'll never be able to "stop" it or "fix" it.

You don't have to pay for good AV or FW:

https://www.comodo.com/home/internet-security/antivirus.php?track=8235&s_track=7639

Windows Defender is only "better than nothing at all", which is hardly a good recommendation.

MalwareBytes Premium is good, but it's not free so my first sentence applies to it.