Jailbroken IPad as replacement laptop?

Alex6534

Honorable
Sep 20, 2013
Hey folks, just built myself a medium build hackintosh by selling my laptop and now on the lookout for a versatile portable solution so that I can:

A) Work on uni/analysis reports on the go.
B) Work on any web development stuff (general coding/Joomla)
C) Read my ebooks
D) Still have access to some design tools (Adobe apps?)

There are other reasons why I'm looking at an IPad (I'm in some function groups and there are some very good apps for a portable guitar rig on the market). However mostly I need something that is versatile as a laptop and a tablet. I'm a student/part time system/business analyst and web developer so have quite a few tools I need access to. The majority of other options seem too expensive and not as practical, I plan on using a wi-fi hard drive as expandable storage hence why I want the IPad jailbroken for file management.

Would an IPad 3 suit my needs? Or would you recommend the IPad air? I'm going for the 16gb model, the mini isn't ideal for me as I'm visually impaired and a larger screen is very beneficial. Really just looking for everyone's thought on this?

tl;dr, jailbroken IPad 3/Air for laptop replacement.

Cheers guys!

Kojitsari

Honorable
Oct 10, 2013
The ipad air is not jailbreakable yet, not sure if the 3 is.....actually every ipad besides first gen on ios above 6.2.1 will not be jailbreakable yet. So If that's the route you want to go, I'd wait a few months and check and see if the Evad3rs have released a jailbreak for ios 7.x.x yet or go with an older ipad. There are usually good deals on like new ipads running a jailbreakalbe ios with 32gb, 64gb, maybe a few 128gb's of storage on craigslist.

Georgehillier

Honorable
Nov 26, 2013
I have an iPad and have jailbroken it once before, although it's useful for some applications, it probably won't be any good for Web development. If I were you I'd stick to a laptop/desktop for the things you want to do.