Laptop recommendations?; HP Envy Spectre XT, Envy 4t, Envy 6t

tryhardertry

Honorable
Jul 4, 2012
Hi, I'm a college student looking for a new laptop. I've really only looked into HP so far, but my choices from there are the Spectre XT, Envy 6t, and the Envy 4t. However, any other brands/models that'll fit the bill better are welcome. I previously owned a 13-inch aluminum MacBook and loved it. I've copy+pasted a template from another forum below addressing general criteria questions:

1) What is your budget?

up to $1,200ish.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

c. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen

3) Where will you buying this notebook? You can select the flag of your country as an indicator.

USA (TX)

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?

I liked my old aluminum MacBook, but since the new one is $2K+ I'm definitely going non-Mac. Like I noted, I like the 3 HPs I listed, but I'm open to other brands.

5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?

No

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?

Basics; word, powerpoint, excel, music-making, video/music editing, web surfing, photoshop, student stuff, occasional gaming, occasional movies

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?

I prefer something with good portability, but without compensating quality. Something I can use in my dorm room when studying but also take to classes & travel with.

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? If so, please state which games or types of games?

Occasionally, I'll probably play Starcraft/Counter-Strike/flash & browser games. However, I *definitely* don't want to make this a gaming-priority laptop by any means.

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?

probably at least 5; more is better, but I REALLY *hate* it when my laptop gets hot/heavy when the battery's being drained.