Question Laptop Screen not working

Apr 2, 2019
My HP Laptop Screen has stopped working after I accidently slapped it hard on the back of screen. It works fine when connected to a external monitor but the MAIN screen looks like its disconnected so I was wondering what would be the best idea to do??

Also I don't know if this is the correct place to ask and this is my first time asking online for help.
thx.

If you can see fine on the external monitor, then your attached display, or the ribbon cable that connects it, are your problem.

So, if the laptop is under warranty, then I would contact the manufacturer. If it isn't under warranty, then you can either try opening it up yourself and looking at it to check the cable and also the display itself for damage, or you can take it to a local tech.

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
N Laptop Tech Support 2
6 Laptop Tech Support 1
J Laptop Tech Support 3
T Laptop Tech Support 5
Davi Rego Laptop Tech Support 5
A Laptop Tech Support 1
B Laptop Tech Support 4
D Laptop Tech Support 4
M Laptop Tech Support 3
A Laptop Tech Support 1
T Laptop Tech Support 2
P Laptop Tech Support 1
K Laptop Tech Support 1
J Laptop Tech Support 1
D Laptop Tech Support 3
H Laptop Tech Support 3
A Laptop Tech Support 3
W Laptop Tech Support 3
T Laptop Tech Support 2
G Laptop Tech Support 5
Similar threads
Question Connection to laptop monitor got cut off, everything should be working. But hmdl shows black screen.
Question Aliminium laptop is blinking, and work only without bottom shell
Question New Laptop Screen - stops working after Nvidia drivers installed
Question Laptop black screen, but works with external monitor
Question Laptop water spill, it works fine on external monitor, but no screen.
Was working on my computer laptop. When it just clicked and the screen went black.
Solved! Laptop fell down...I think it is working properly... Just that the screen is showing black and white... Can I fix this?