Solved! Lenovo which one to get ?

roger2011

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2011
Hello All:

I got a gift certificate from Best Buy and I want to spend it in a laptop.

My use is business applications, (Powerpoint as the most graphic intensive, surfing the web and watching live streams or videos on demand and the occasional DVD. I do like decent sound quality (with headphones) and decent video quality.

I've narrowed down my selection to two Lenovo. I am no expert so I was wondering if you guys can guide me in either getting the one with the AMD processor, spend a few bucks and up it up to 4G (as it has the ATI video card) or just go with the one with the Intel I3. Not really concerned about the extra hard drive storage, no videogames .

Here are the links to both for comparo and thanks guys!

AMD

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Lenovo+-+IdeaPad+Laptop+/+AMD+Phenom%26%23153%3B+II+Processor+/+15.6%22+Display+/+3GB+Memory+/+320GB+Hard+Drive+-+Black/2171094.p?id=1218312457552&skuId=2171094

INTEL

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Lenovo+-+IdeaPad+Laptop+/+Intel%26%23174%3B+Core%26%23153%3B+i3+Processor+/+15.6%22+Display+/+4GB+Memory+/+500GB+Hard+Drive+-+Black/1945268.p?id=1218301987431&skuId=1945268

Roger

Solution
Hello Roger2011;

That other Lenovo - the B560 doesn't look bad either.

On the Z565 with it's 3GB or RAM you'd need to remove a 1GB stick and replace it with a 2GB stick to get 4. With the B560 you just add the 2GB stick.

Lenovo B560 Notebook review (not an identical model - this review unit had an upgraded video card)

I could not find a review of the Z565 with the AMD Phenom II N660. It looks like on the latest version of Z565 that they've switched over the Pentium P6200.

Passmark CPU benchmark scores:
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_list.php

Z565 AMD Phenom II N660 @ 3 GHz = 1825
B560 Intel Pentium P6200 @ 2.13GHz = 1671
V560 Intel Core i3 380M @ 2.53GHz = 2338
Hello Roger2011;

That other Lenovo - the B560 doesn't look bad either.