Looking for a gaming laptop

YaShA_MY

Estimable
Mar 20, 2014
Hi, I'm a college student and I've been looking around for a laptop that I can use for gaming and multimedia designing. I heard that the Nvidia GTX 800 series was coming out for laptops so I was really excited to get one. I came across this and it looks really decent for its price.

http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/lenovo/y-series/y50/

There's quite a lot of models to choose from and I'm not sure which would be the best for me. I want it to play a lot of high-end games, but I also want to save money if possible. Please help me decide which model would be the most ideal.

If there are other suggestions or advice, I'd like to hear them too. I'd really appreciate your help. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: If anyone has bought the Lenovo Y50, please let me know how is it performing and was it worth the money. Thanks.
EDIT: I've been hearing a lot of suggestions that I should take a look at the Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p also. What are your thoughts on it compared to the Lenovo Y50?

http://www.amazon.com/Lenovo-IdeaPad-15-6-Inch-Laptop-59406636/dp/B00HIY8VLQ/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Solution
16GB RAM will enable you to do more at once - it's only really useful for things like video editing and rendering or CAD. Since games, an internet browser, an OS and other applications don't take up more than 6GB of RAM, getting any more is pretty useless. 8GB is known as the gaming sweet spot amount of RAM
GPU memory (GDDR5 as we know it) can be simplified as "the amount able to be sent out at once" - it doesn't affect how well graphics are processed (atleast noticeably, sometimes there's like a 5% difference that I personally don't think justifies the bigger prices)
but it affects how much graphics data can be sent out to the screens.
eg. a 1GB GDDR5 graphics card would bottleneck a 1920x1200 screen output regardless of how well it...

ingtar33

Honorable
Dec 17, 2012