Looking for a gtx 1060 laptop?

rokyslash

Commendable
May 16, 2016
I have been looking to buy a gaming laptop from the past two months. I only found out now that nvidia gtx 1000 series laptops are much better than 900 series ones. I am new to gaming and want to buy my first ever gaming laptop. I need a laptop for sure, not a desktop for portability reasons. However for the most part I will use it in plugged mode, so battery life isn't a huge issue.

Coming to the main point, my budget is around $1500 and I want a 15-15.6 inch screen laptop only. And also the laptop that I will be taking will have a resolution not greater than FHD, so considering that, I think going with a gtx 1060 card is a better option as gtx 1070 or 1080 are only better than 1060 if I plan to play games at a higher resolution. So for FHD, gtx 1060 is more than enough(correct me if I am wrong, I am basing my priority over a 1060 laptop based on this fact/opinion). So which laptops do you suggest?

P.S. Is it worth spending money on gtx 1000 series laptops or should I buy a 900 series laptop (since it's my first gaming laptop)? Would the 900 series laptops' price drop seeing that pascal cards are out? If yes, is it even worth considering 900 series cards? As I read that with the advent of 1000 series cards, 900 series are about 2-3 generations old instead of being a generation away.

P.P.S. Also would there be any deals for such laptops considering ThanksGiving and black friday is only a few weeks away?

Thanks

Solution
The 1060 is great for 1080p and it will last for a few years before you need to upgrade. Personally I would keep the 1060 and spend the extra on better storage and ram as you only plan on playing at 1080. Also the heat and noise will be a lot less than the 1070. You will also get better battery life.