Looking to replace my old laptop with something more capable for my current interests

katieboo

Estimable
Jul 7, 2014
Ok so im kind of a noob because the biggest problem im having is not knowing what im looking for. I have basic idea of what i need the computer to do and how I would like it to perform. I'll start with the reason why I am replacing my current one.
Firstly, I am a student with disability and so even my exams are done on computer and I need to be able to carry it around school all day almost every day. My current laptop is a HP pavilion G6 that is beginning to give up. It has served me well until now but the fan inside has a blade missing which isn't helping. It is a factory refurb that already had some damage from where they had badly pryed it apart and I have taken it apart myself in order to remove the broken blade that was floating around in there. I'm learning to animate and at the moment it works perfectly but I have been advised that once I get into to actually setting up frames and movements, it will not be able to handle the graphics it requires. Also I love the Sims 3 and have many expansions (5) but when I play the laptop gets so hot and works so I hard that I worry about it damaging the computer or burning my legs off.

So, I need a computer that is capable of supporting Maya Autodesk (3d animation) to a good degree and also I want to be able to play the Sims 3 with out the laptop burning my legs off. It needs to be an okay size an preferably not too heavy as I have to carry it all day everyday. Needs to have as good a battery life as possible as not all the classrooms have seat where I can sit and plug in during the day. Would prefer a large amount of storage but that's not a problem as I can simply store stuff on an outside drive so its not necessary. Must have a dvd rom drive so I can play games and soft wares from a disk.