MacBook vs Microsoft Surface Pro 3

Ace251091

Estimable
May 12, 2014
I am currently in my 2nd year studying Computer Science in the UK. I still have another year to go and most probably will do a Masters Degree in Marketing. I want to change my laptop. I currently own a Samsung Ativ Book 9 Lite 13 inch. It's not a very powerful laptop but it's thin and light so that is my primary concern before buying my next machine. I want it to be 13.3 inches and be thin and light. The problem with my current laptop is that it has performance hiccups and the AMD cpu feels sluggish. I was interested to switch to a MacBook Pro Retina 13 inch now that Apple dropped their prices £100 down in the UK. With the student discount I could get it for £850 (base model). However with the recent release of the Surface Pro 3 I am in a big dilemma. I've read article after article and review after review for both machines and it seems that the MacBook is a clear winner in terms of almost everything(even in OS since you can use a Virtual Machine and run both OSX and Windows). However I am still intrigued by the flexibility I could get with a Surface Pro 3(touchscreen, surface pen,detachable keyboard and generally weight and thinness). I was wondering if anyone has any of the two machines and could offer some insight, maybe some advantages or disadvantages of each machine from a user's perspective ?

To wrap things up:

Looking for a machine that can handle everyday tasks and perhaps some advanced applications (light 3D Rendering, and Android Studio, Netbeans etc). Dont care about operating system since I can run both on a MacBook and Surface already has Windows so it's a win-win no matter which machine I choose.

MacBook Pro Retina 13(base model) Student Price: £850
Surface Pro 3 i5,128 GB SSD,4GB RAM Student Price: £865

Solution
Ace,