SharePoint Advice

BlueFireAngel

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2010
Note: This may not be the appropriate forum for this discussion/questions.
I work for a small construction company as a project estimator. I'm not an IT professional and I have limited computing skills. I understand more than most mainstream computer users but almost nothing compared to someone that does IT for a living.
We are in the process of either purchasing or creating a file management system that can automate some of the tasks of managing electronic and paper communication. We are looking for something that can help us keep track of documents for each job including plans, specifications, purchase orders, contracts, RFI's, emails, estimates, etc. Also, we would like to be able to host some sort of file sharing site, preferably that is integrated with our company web site, for our vendors to view and or download plans, specifications, addenda, etc. We have an ftp site that is password protected currently. This requires us to periodically change the password and notify our vendors manually. We also have sharepoint and have made some inroads in utilizing the software for these purposes but do not have someone on staff that is familiar enough with the platform to use it to its full potential.
Our options come down to purchasing a software solution, hiring a contractor to create and implement a solution for us, creating and managing a solution ourselves, or remaining with the status quo. The problem with the last option is that it will stifle of potential growth.