SSD and RAM upgrade of brand new laptop

Mikeael89

Prominent
Jul 28, 2017
Hi -- I'm a newbie here. I'm looking to buy the Acer Aspire E 15 E5-575-33BM laptop. These are the specs:

Intel Core i3-7100U Processor 7th Generation
4GB DDR4
1TB 5400RPM Hard Drive

It turns out that this laptop has an extra slot for an m.2 SSD. I'll be buying a 250GB SSD to install, so I'll have the SSD and a hard drive in the laptop. I'll also be buying an extra 4GB of RAM. I'd like to know:

Should I install the RAM before I turn on the computer or after?

Should I install the SSD before I turn on the computer or after?

I've read that once the SSD is installed, I would need to clone the Windows 10 OS that's on the hard drive to the SSD. I plan to use EaseUS Todo Backup to do this. Seeing as this will be a new computer, will this be a fairly straightforward process? For example, would I need a Windows system repair disk or anything like that?

I appreciate any and all guidance. Thanks in advance.

Mike

P.S. here's a link to the laptop: https://www.amazon.com/Acer-E5-575-33BM-15-6-Inch-Processor-Generation/dp/B01K1IO3QW/ref=cm_cd_al_qh_dp_t

Solution
You absolutely need to get it up and running, in the original config, before you change the drives.
This activates and registers the OS license.
After, you can swap drives and do a clean install on the new SSD.

Be sure to download any drivers you will need. Touchpad, maybe the GPU, etc, etc.
Save those on a USB stick for install after you do the clean install on the new SSD.

And only change one part at a time.
SSD, then RAM. Don't do all that at once.

Also...the manufacturer may have a Factory Reset function. This would allow you to create a DVD or USB factory reset option.
Do this, and stash that away. Just in case.
Look in the user manual for how to invoke this.

PC Tailor

Prominent
Jun 29, 2017
If I've read that correctly... NEVER put in components whilst the laptop is on.