Tweeters probably burned

Distant_bells

Prominent
Mar 8, 2017
Before beginning, I'd like you to know that I am a newbie.

I have an Allen&Heath GL-2800 Mixer 2 Dynacord amplifiers and 4 Dynacord A-115 speakers.

I seldom use this system since 1 month for conferences. Just plugging, opening the mixer, then amps. I had no problems since today.

2 speakers are daisy chained from A channel of my 1st amplifier. Other 2 are daisy chained from A channel of my 2nd amplifier.

Here is my problem:

Today I have noticed that the tweeters of my 2 daisy chained passive speakers which connected to the 1st amp were malfunctioning. They don't reach at highs, mids are -I guess- ok. Both speakers had the same problem.

I replaced speakers with some new speakers. Then unplugged and cancelled the other speaker. Everything seems fine.

However, few minutes after, I suddenly noticed that my other 2 speakers which connected to the 2nd amplifier had the same problem. I replaced and did the same thing to them too. Now I use only 2 speakers instead of 4.

So, my speakers are dead now? I just want to learn what caused this and how to prevent this happening again. We used this system for only microphone talks and 4 minutes of music. Nothing else. No live shows no bands etc. Why my speakers died so easily and kept dying? Is it about power source? Or maybe the switches behind the amps are wrongly set; there are "grounded-ungrounded" / "parallel - dual - bridged" switches behind amps. How should I might set those?

greens

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2012

Wait. You're using speakers and tweeters interchangeably... But i see no mention of a crossover.
Typically you can send a Bass or full range speaker a full range audio stream without a problem.

Sending full range audio to a tweeter is a very bad idea. Did the tweeters come as part of a component set?