Question Unusual Bluetooth Device Labels Showing Up — Help Me Solve This Mystery, Please!

Jul 22, 2023
Hello, Tom's Guide Community!

After thoroughly searching the forums, I believe that I have discovered a new issue that no one else has experienced—Google returned zero results for this problem as well. I've attached two Flickr links of screenshots for your viewing: one of the Bluetooth list, and one showing my phone's model, build, OS, etc. I tried posting the screenshots here, instead of the links, but I couldn't find that option. I am still learning the system, so please bear with me as this is my first post ever in this community. Thanks in advance for any advice, input, or feedback.

I recently purchased a new, inexpensive set of Bluetooth headphones to use while mowing the grass. When I opened the Bluetooth settings to begin pairing and hit "scan," a bunch of weird device labels showed up in the "available devices" list. It's hard to explain, but the screenshot shows it all. Has anyone come across this before? Neither the new headphones nor any other Bluetooth devices will connect since the issue started last night. A normal phone power cycle didn't fix the problem, and neither did a "network settings reset." I don't feel comfortable trying anything else until I hear back from the community. I finished mowing, and the wired headphones are working fine in the meantime, so whenever you have a chance to reply is fine with me—no rush.

Thanks again,

Drew 🙂

Just off the top of my head:

What would be the model number of the headset you purchased?
Did you fully charge the headset before attempting to pair them?
Are any other devices currently paired with the phone?
Has the phone's Bluetooth worked before?

-Wolf sends

Jul 22, 2023
Just off the top of my head:

What would be the model number of the headset you purchased?
Did you fully charge the headset before attempting to pair them?
Are any other devices currently paired with the phone?