4K Streaming Solution - Samsung TV, Shield, Options

Dec 25, 2018
Hi All.

I have a new TV; the Samsung NU8000, and it does not support DTS audio, among other things. I'm pretty new to all of this to be honest!

I would like to be able to display 4k content on this TV from my PC. This 4k content is often in HEVC format, with DTS audio only. I'm currently running a plex media server on my TV, but my PC is not powerful enough to transcode 4k over plex, so I often end up with buffering issues.

My current idea is:
PC Plex Media Server -> Plex Client Nvidia Shield -> AV Receiver -> Samsung TV and separate speakers

I'm assuming with this set up that the Nvidia shield would be able to direct play any content my PC provided, whilst the AV receiver would be able to handle the audio formats whilst passing the video to the TV.

I have a few questions here:
1) Would my idea work in the first place?

2) Is there a way I can do this without the AV Receiver, as this adds a lot to the overall cost.

3) What would be the best all-encompassing solution, allowing me to play the largest amount of content on my TV?

Thanks for any help folks!

Solution
Looks like both files are identical when it comes to audio streams.

Buffering is usually caused by server hardware limitation (when transcoding) or network congestion.

1. What are your server specs?

2. What are the CPU and RAM utilization when playing the buffering file?

3. Have you switched between 2.4GHz and 5GHz and tested?

4. Is the audio clipping when the same file is played on the PC?

5. Forgive me for assuming, but are you playing the correct file? (the one you converted). Place it in a different folder and add it as a new library so that Plex reads the new version.

6. No harm in converting it again.

Dedicated HTPC. If transcoding I guess you just need a beefier box.

For audio, AVR, your control center for all audio from any source.

eszed556

Estimable
Jan 28, 2016