Any Mac Users Here? I need help on some specs

FBA

Honorable
Nov 12, 2012
Basically I'm planning to buy an Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display and here are the specs I'm going to be buying, are these good enough??

16GB RAM
2.6GHZ i7
256GB SSD

Are these specs good enough and btw budget is not a problem for me. I'm asking more about the RAM and will this laptop be good enough to make videos for example the games I recorded from FRAPS on my PC? will it be able to render them probably in highest resolution?

what's the highest res it'll render properly at?

sorry I'm new to Apple that' why

unoriginal1

Honorable
Apr 11, 2012
For the price of an macbook you could get one heck of a gaming/video editing machine. Just an fyi ;).

the i7 and high amounts of ram are good when it comes to video editing / rendering.
You've selected good specs.

Still recommend building a pc. More bang for your buck!!

nebun

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2008

not true....if you want durability, the apple product will outlast any pc...my 2009 macbook pro still runs circles around most new pc laptops

nebun

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2008

you will love the laptop....don't get the 17 inch....15 is big enough for a laptop....the i7 will auto over-clock to about 3ghz so you are good as far as computing power goes...you won't regret it....trust me.

unoriginal1

Honorable
Apr 11, 2012

Im sorry and not trying to argue but that is purely a matter of opinion. When you look at it from a hardware perspective it's the same parts coming from the same place...

Sure if you get a low end acer or something that's know for cheap parts don't expect it to last. But APPLE is not superior when it comes to quality of build. They use the same i7 from intel that any other provider does. It's about the quality of the laptop you buy.

To be short. The ONLY difference between say a lenova and an apple is the OS.