Best laptop for programming?

ckoryom

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2008
Hi, Im a Computer Engineering student and I would like to buy very soon a laptop that would be nice for programming in a variety of languages such as C, C++, Java eclipse, netbeans.. and more.

Im looking for a system that supports and handles Ubuntu Linux OS, and around the prices of 300$-600$.

I would like to know wich screen size is suitable for my needs and wich brand I should get.

I've done some research and found some NetBooks like Sylvania or ASUS, they have UBUNTU already installed and are very cheap around 300$'s. But I dont know if a NETBOOK is nice for programming.

I also visited thje DELL.com website and found the INSPIRON UBUNTU LAPTOPS they are around 600$ .

What laptop do you guys recommend for me?

Thank you,
Ckoryom

overclockingrocks

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2006
for programming pretty much any modern laptop will do. you can pick up decent dual core HP's for around $500 or so. try newegg or if you're the type that likes to touch and feel before buying go to Fry's or somewhere similar. Netbooks though will NOT be nice to program on their screens are too small same with keyboards (they are a nice size for everything else but programming on them with the amount of typing would suck). On the Ubuntu issue pretty much anything from a P3 1GHz and up will handle it pretty well so anything you buy now will be just fine. You really don't need a lot of power to program honestly

Peaks

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2008
i agree with overclockingrocks. Any modern laptop is gonna be able to run IDE's such as isual studio or netbeans 6.1.0 and handle the frameworks and languages. Hell, i have seen some pretty terrible laptops working well with C, C++ in visual studio.

dwellman

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2002
My opinions: