Camara Turns On Alone

dasalvar

Estimable
Nov 26, 2014
Hi, I know there are several post like this one in this forum, but I couldn't find a fix in them.

My webcam turns on alone, randomly while using it or right after booting and the laptop connects to internet. I own a Lenovo Y400.

How I suspect I got infected? I disabled Windows Smartscreen and the promt when you try to run a program as Admin. (I did for being lazy and push an extra key...). Then I tried to install a pirated version of Photoshop and a crack to CC (I'm a student and could afford the student version... Now I regret, I will pay for every software I use...)

I've ran Malwarebytes full scan in my PC. Even in safe-mode and nothing found. Also I downloaded BitDefender's Malware Removal, and Karpersky's one. Same... nothing found.

When I try to use the webcam on Skype or even the photo software on my PC it says there's no webcam connected/detected. It is weird because the webcam is built-in. I've never seen the (385boot) driver in the time I've owned the laptop.

camdriver.jpg

After all that I deleted the partitions on my hard drive. And did a Fresh Install of Windows 8.1 Pro. (I bought a licence for students thanks to my university). In the setup of Windows I formatted (or clicked the format options 3 times, just to make sure everything was erased).

When I was installing drivers, I couldn't install webcam drivers. Untill several tries and trying to remove the (385boot) one.

I installed BitDefender... blah blah... The webcam keeps turning on again alone...

What can I do? Should I wipe the HDD?

Gamerguy49

Estimable
Nov 18, 2014
A rootkit is very difficult to detect. A couple of things you could try:
1) When the light comes on, disconnect from the internet and see if it stays on.
2) Put a band-aid over the camera when it comes on and see if it suddenly shuts off then.

These two steps can indicate if someone is using your webcam.